SensorNets 2009: The First International School on Cyber-Physical and Sensor Networks

Monastir, Tunisia, December 17-21, 2009

Best M.Sc. and Ph.D. Thesis Awards

The Award Co-Chairs of SensorNets 2009 are pleased to announce Master and Ph.D. Thesis Award Competitions in the area of Wireless Sensor Networks.

The prize is donated by King Abdul Aziz City for Science and Technology (KACST, Saudi Arabia).

Theses eligible for the competition have to be completed before October 1, 2009. M.Sc. theses and Ph.D. dissertations older than 2 years arenot eligible for competition. Candidates eligible to the award must be accepted participants in SensorNets 2009. They can either be represented by the author of the thesis (student) or his supervisor.

Candidates must submit the following materials (in English) in electronic format:


  • Application letter, including the name of the applicant, the thesis title and its date of completion, the date of the defense and the overall grade, and a report on the outstanding contributions of the thesis, together with the list of publications derived from research related to the thesis and of which the candidate is the primary author (mandatory for PhD Theses, optional for Master Theses).
  • Letter of recommendation from the Advisor.
  • The thesis itself. The thesis document can be written either in English or in French.


Submission of a single document file in PDF format must be done through the online submission system



If you have any query, please contact SensorNets’09 Awards Co-Chairs:


Criteria for selecting the winner are scientific originality, scientific significance for the field of wireless sensor networks and cyber-physical systems, quality of the presentation and potential for practical application.

The jury can decide not to award some of the prizes if the quality or significance of the submitted works is not relevant.

Awards Co-Chairs

  • Björn Andersson (CISTER Research Unit, Portugal)
  • Habib Youssef (Prince Research Unit, Tunisia)

Awards Sponsor Chair

  • Mohssen Al-Abbadi (KACST, Saudi Arabia)

Awards Technical Committee

  • Jianxin Chen (Shanghai Jiaotong University, China)
  • Leandro Buss Becker (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil)
  • Liliana Cucu (INRIA Lorraine, France)
  • Mohamed Hamdi (Sup'Com, Tunisia)
  • Issam Mabrouki (ISITCom, Tunisia)
  • Aref Meddeb (ISITCom, Tunisia)
  • Stefano Tennina (University of L'Aquila, Italy)
  • Ilham Ouachani (ISITCom, Tunisia)
  • Wilfried Elmenreich (Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt, Austria)



Important deadlines:

Submission Deadline: Oct 15 2009 (extended to Oct 30, 2009)


  1. Best Demo award: Maissa Ben Jamaa, Nouha Baccour, Anis Koubaa, Denis do Rosarioy, Mario Alves, Leandro Becker, Habib Youssef, and Mohamed Jmaiel. Demo Abstract: A TestBed for the evaluation of Link Quality Estimators in WSNs.
  2. Best Poster award: Majdi Mansouri, Hichem Snoussi, Ilham Ouachani, Cédric RICHARD. Poster Abstract: Adaptive quantization for target tracking in wireless sensor networks.
  3. Best M.Sc awards: Marco Zimmerling. Automatic Parameter Optimization of Sensor Network MAC Protocols.



General Co-Chairs

  • Mohamed Abid

(CES/ENIS, Tunisia)
  • David Simplot-Ryl

    (IRCICA/LIFL, France)

Program Co-Chairs

  • Anis Koubâa

(Al-Imam Mohamed bin Saud Univ., Saudi Arabia / CISTER Research Unit, Portugal)
  • Habib M. Ammari

    (WiSeMAN Research Lab, Hofstra University, USA)

Publicity Co-Chairs

  • Petr Jurcik

(CISTER Research Unit, Portugal/Czech Technical University, Czech Republic)
  • Nuno Pereira

  • (CISTER Research Unit, Portugal)
  • Marco Zuniga

  • (DERI, Ireland)


    Posters & Demos Co-Chairs


    • Mounir Frikha

    (Sup'Com, Tunisia)
    • Ye-Qiong Song

    (LORIA - Nancy University, France)

    Awards Co-Chairs

    • Habib Youssef

    (Prince Research Unit, Tunisia)

    • Bjorn Andersson

    (CISTER Research Unit, Portugal)


    Awards Sponsor Chair


    • Mohssen Alabbadi

    (KACST, Saudi Arabia)


    Contact Information

    • Anis Koubâa

    aska at isep dot ipp dot pt
    More ...